Herefordshire Short Mat Bowling Association


Presentation Evening

The presentation evening, which is the culmination of the Herefordshire short mat bowling season, took place at Larruperz Centre on Sunday April 14th 2019.The trophies were organised by David Millington Jones and presented by the HSMBA Chairman, Ian Park and Vice Chair, Fran Jones. The presentations were followed by a buffet supper provided by the Larruperz Centre and Heather Foulkes, Sue Stannard and Fran Jones. Photographs were taken by Colin Boyse.

The photo gallery below shows the winners of the various county competitions and leagues along with a number of other award recipients. If anyone would like an e-mailed copy of any photo please contact Ian Roe.

County Champions 2018-19

County Singles – Burden Cup
Winner – Ian Park, Ross on Wye
Runner-up – Joe Loveys, Gorsley ChapelIan Park, Ross on Wye
County Pairs – D&H Luther Cup
Winners – Joe Loveys (Gorsley Chapel) & John Mills (Woolhope)
Runners-up – Sheila Whittingham & (Peter Wright) Larruperz
County Triples – Norman Davies Shield
Winners – John Snow, Steve Kite & (Merion Attwood) – Lea
Runners up – Les Barlow, Dean Rudman & Joe Loveys – Gorsley Chapel
Mixed Fours – Townsend Shield
Winners – Sue Dix, Kate Williams, Dave Watkins & Les Williams – Ross
Runners up – Elaine & Rob George, Pam & Ian Park – Ross
County Fours – Mercian Cup
Winners – Gillian Gange, Doug Knowler, Sheila Clapson & Heather Foulkes – Weston
Runners up – Pam Griffiths, (Carole Rowland), Sue & John Stannard – Fownhope

League Winners 2018-19

Winter League -Division 1
Winners – Woolhope ‘A’
Runners-up – Ross ‘A’
Winter League -Division 2
Winners – Woolhope B
Runners-up –  Fownhope
Summer League
Winners – Ross Rockers

Runners-up – Llangarron

County Competitions and Awards

Bromyard Triples Challenge Cup
Winners – Rob George, Ian Roe & Ian Park – Ross
Runners-up – Linda Lewis, (Luke Rawlings) & Tony Vitale – Larruperz
Macmillan Cancer Support Trophy
Winners – Elaine & Rob George, Bernard Glover & Ian Park – Ross
Runners-up – June Smith, (Janet Harris), Mary Gardner & (Colin Smith) – Lea
Junior Winner – Dominic Rogers – Woolhope
LEH Team of Ten Two Counties Competition
Winners – Gloster Knights
Runners-up – Woolhope
LEH Team of Ten Two Counties Competition
Sue Stannard – Fownhope

National Qualifiers

Ian Park – Ross
John Mills – Woolhope & (Shaun Jones) – Ross
Over 55 Pairs
Ian Roe & Ian Park – Ross
John Mills. Shirley & Becci Cox – Woolhope
Joe Loveys – Gorsley Chapel, John Mills, Shirley & Becci Cox – Woolhope
Mixed Fours
Joe Loveys – Gorsley Chapel, John Mills, Shirley & Becci Cox – Woolhope
Dave Watkins, Ian Roe & (Shaun Jones) – Ross

Dave Watkins, Kate Williams, Ian Roe & (Shaun Jones) – Ross
Under 18’s
Dominic Rogers – Woolhope