Herefordshire Short Mat Bowling Association


County Championships

HSMBA Singles Championship - Burden Cup

2023 Competition

A fantastic number of entries saw 24 players gather on the morning of Saturday 4th February 2023 at The Larruperz Centre, Ross, where six mats had been tightly squeezed in to accomodate the large number of competitors. Drawn into six groups of four, the group stages saw some incredibly close results and brilliant play, showcasing the very best that the HSMBA has to offer. The Semi-Finals saw two former winners in Anthony Rogers (Woolhope) and Joe Loveys (Gorsley Chapel), both looking to take their third County Singles title, taking on two of the HSMBA’s most experienced players in Becci Cox (Woolhope) and Merion Attwood (Lea) respectively. Whilst Anthony succeeded in a close game against Becci, Merion beat Joe to reach his first Singles final.  The in-form Rogers ultimately proved to be too strong for his opponent, taking a comfortable victory in the final to go second on the list of all time winners in the compeition, just one behind the late HSMBA Chairman, Ian Park. 

Quarter Finals

Anthony Rogers (Woolhope) bt Peter Wright (Ross) 13-5

Joe Loveys (Gorsley Chapel) bt Jim Knowles (St Martin’s) 11-6 

Merion Attwood (Lea) bt John Clapson (Lea) 13-2

Becci Cox (Woolhope) bt Shirley Cox (Woolhope) 12-8

Semi Finals

Merion Attwood(Lea) bt Joe Loveys (Gorsley Chapel) 11-5

Anthony Rogers (Woolhope) bt Becci Cox (Woolhope)  10-8


Anthony Rogers (Woolhope) bt Merion Attwood (Lea) 22-3

Singles Finalists
Finalists Anthony Rogers and Merion Attwood

Roll of Honour

SeasonWinner (Player)Winner (Team)Runner-up (Player)Runner-up (Team)
2024John MillsWoolhopeJoe LoveysGorsley Chapel
2023Anthony RogersWoolhopeMerion AttwoodLea
2022John MillsWoolhopeDave WatkinsRoss
2020Joe LoveysGorsley ChapelIan ParkRoss
2019Ian ParkRossJoe LoveysGorsley Chapel
2018Joe LoveysGorsley ChapelHarold AubreyWeston
2017Ian ParkRossIan RoeRoss
2016John JillingsWoolhopeBetty AubreyWeston
2015Ian ParkWoolhopeDave WatkinsRoss
2014John ClapsonWestonPhil RogersWoolhope
2013Ian ParkWoolhopeAnthony RogersWoolhope
2012John StannardFownhopeTony VitaleLarruperz
2011Anthony RogersWoolhopeNeil KellettFownhope
2010Anthony RogersWoolhopeLes PhillipsLarruperz
2009James ZimmermanRossLes WilliamsRoss
2008Mark CarpenterRossTony VitaleLarruperz
2007Neil KellettFownhopeAnthony RogersWoolhope
2006John StannardFownhopeTony VitaleLarruperz
2005Frank GarrettRossJohn StannardFownhope
2004Fred JolleyFownhopeJames ZimmermanRoss
2003Andrew MollettFownhopeHarry WaltersRoss
2002Fred JolleyFownhopeNigel SkyrmeSellack
2001Nigel SkyrmeSellackLes PhillipsLarruperz
2000Andrew MollettFownhopeMargaret EggletonRoss

Competitions Results & Information

Find out more about our competitions, results, fixtures and information.