Herefordshire Short Mat Bowling Association


County Championships

HSMBA Over 55 Pairs Championship

2024 Competition

The 2024 competition was held at Ross Bowling Club on Sunday 17th March., with 21 teams battling it out in a group of five and four groups of four to reach the knockout stages.

By the semi final stage, two teams from both Ross and Fownhope remained as the pre-determined draw kept both clubs hope of a one club final alive. In the first match, Helen Parry & Nic Lloyd took on Dave Watkins & Ian Roe. With the score at 5-3 on the fifth end, the Ross duo consolidated their lead, winning the following three ends to book their place in the final with a 10-5 win. The second semi final saw Gary Peachey & David Millington Jones looking to join their club mates as they faced Carole Rowland & Nic Cooper. A dominant performance from the Ross duo saw them achieve their aims as they limited their opponents to just one shot in seven ends, eventually winning the game 11-5.

A slow burning final saw Watkins & Roe race into an 8-1 lead at the halfway stage before a four for Millington Jones and Peachey put them back in contention. Heading into the final end Watkins and Roe held an 11-8 lead, with their opponents requiring a three to take the game to an extra end. A strong start from Watkins looked to have limited his opponent’s chances before Peachey removed the holding bowl, drawing in with his final wood to take the three required and force the game to an extra end. In a similar fashion to the previous end, Watkins & Roe started the extra end well as Roe consolidated a strong start from Watkins with a draw in front of the jack. However, a perfect final wood draw from Peachey took shot with the follow up from Roe failing to dislodge the wood as their opponents took the match and the title by the barest of margins.



Dave Watkins & Ian Roe (Ross) bt Helen Parry & Nic Lloyd (Fownhope) 10-5

David Millington Jones & Gary Peachey (Ross) bt Carole Rowland & Nic Cooper (Fownhope) 11-5



David Millington Jones & Gary Peachey (Ross) bt Dave Watkins & Ian Roe 12-11

Gary Peachey and David Millington Jones

Roll of Honour

SeasonWinner (Players)Winner (Team)Runner-up (Players)Runner-up (Team)
2024David Millington Jones & Gary Peachey RossDave Watkins & Ian RoeRoss
2023Claire Herbert & Peter WrightRossRichard Bemand & Carole RowlandGorsley / Fownhope
2022Claire Herbert & Peter WrightRossPeter Lewis & Tony VitaleFownhope / Ross
2020Sue Dix & Les WilliamsRossDavid Millington Jones & Peter WrightWeston

Competitions Results & Information

Find out more about our competitions, results, fixtures and information.