Bromyard Triples Challenge Cup

Bromyard Triples Challenge Cup

This is a club triples competition which was held for the first time at Bromyard Leisure Centre in April 1999. Short Mat bowlers from clubs in the joint association of Herefordshire and Gloucestershire were invited to play and 30 teams took up the challenge. Fownhope beat Corse and Staunton in the final in a very close game. This initial running of the event came at the end of the era of the joint association of Herefordshire and Gloucestershire. The increase in the number of short mat bowling clubs had made it possible for each county to establish their own association in the ESMBA.

The competition continues as an HSMBA event in the new venue of the Ross Bowling Club, Ross on Wye and has been renamed the County Triples Challenge Cup. Each county club is invited to enter one team and then, if necessary, numbers are made up to 16 entrants by inviting additional teams from those clubs entering.

2024 Competition

The 2024 competition was held on Saturday 13th January 2024 at Ross Bowling Club with 16 teams from 7 clubs competing initially in 4 round robin groups before the group winners and runners up progressed to the knockout stage. Two clubs from Gorsley were represented in the semi-finals, alongside one from Woolhope and one from Ross. Both semi-finals saw very close games, with Gorsley 1 managing to overcome a strong Ross team 12-10 to reach the final. In the other game, Woolhope convincingly ended the prospect of an all Gorsley final with a 15-4 victory. The final certainly lived up to expectations, with some fantastic bowling from both sides leaving the score at 8-8  with an extra end required. Woolhope took an early lead in the extra end but a measured draw from Loveys gave Gorsley shot, leaving Mills with a tricky fire that narrowly missed, giving Gorsley the win 9-8. 

Semi Finals

Dean Rudman, Sophie Heather-Warner & Joe Loveys (Gorsley Chapel) bt Claire Herbert, Gary Peachey & Peter Wright (Ross) 12-10

Shirley Cox, Bryan Watkins & John Mills (Woolhope) bt  Lynn Williams, Richard Eells and Chris Rudderham (Gorsley Chapel) 15-4


Dean Rudman, Sophie Heather-Warner & Joe Loveys (Gorsley Chapel) bt Shirley Cox, Bryan Watkins & John Mills (Woolhope) 9-8 (After Extra End)

L to R: Joe Loveys, Sophie Heather-Warner and Dean Rudman

Record of Champions

YearWinner (Players)Winner (Team)Runner-up (Players)Runner-up (Team)
2024Dean Rudman, Sophie Heather-Warner & Joe LoveysGorsley ChapelShirley Cox, Bryan Watkins & John MillsWoolhope
2023Harold Aubrey, Kate Williams & Tim RigdenWestonSophie Heather-Warner, Dean Rudman & Joe LoveysGorsley Chapel
2022No Competition
2021No Competition
2020No Competition
2019Rob George, Ian Roe & Ian ParkRossLinda Lewis, Luke Rawlings & Tony VitaleLarruperz
2018Mike Conway, Terry Darrington, Rita HancockAston InghamLorraine Pearce, June Pearce, Tony VitaleLarruperz
2017Elaine George, Les Williams, Dave WatkinsRossFran Jones, Betty & Harold AubreyWeston
2016George Marshall, Les Williams, Dave WatkinsRossDominic, Sandra & Anthony RogersWoolhope
2015Gwyneth Jones, Merion Attwood, Colin SmithLeaGillian & Brian Gange, Janet CooperFownhope
2014Ali and Ian Roe, David WatkinsRossColin Boyse, Alf Wye, Les PhillipsLarruperz
2013June Smith, Merion Attwood, Colin SmithLeaAli and Ian Roe, David WatkinsRoss
2012David Watkins, Les Williams, Colin BarnesRossFay Middlecote, Hazel and Tony VitaleLarruperz
2011Derek Griffiths, Mark and Isobel WardleyFownhopeMark Bowden, Shirley and Becci CoxWoolhope
2010Shirley and Becci Cox, Andy MayesWoolhopeLes Williams, Paul Hook, Colin BarnesRoss
2009Faye Middlecote, Hazel and Tony VitaleLarruperzRay Bilby, Betty and Harold AubreyWeston under Penyard
2008Hilary Marshall, Sue and John StannardFownhopeDavid Watkins, Les Williams, J. ZimmermanRoss
2007Sandra, Phil, Anthony RogersWoolhopeTim Rigdon, Betty and Harold AubreyWeston under Penyard
2006David Watkins, Les Williams, J. ZimmermanRossTim Rigdon, Betty and Harold AubreyWeston under Penyard
2005Sandra, Phil, Anthony RogersWoolhopeHilary Marshall, Sue and John StannardFownhope
2004Sandra, Phil, Anthony RogersWoolhopeAnn Watkins, Sheila and Alf WyeLea
2003Sue and John Stannard, Fred JolleyFownhopeBrenda and Frank Garrett, Harry WaltersRoss
2002June Pearce, Hazel Vitale, Les PhillipsLarruperzKaren and Nigel Skyrme, Gareth BarnfieldSellack
2001Anthony Rogers, Roland Gardener, Sandra RogersWoolhopeHilary Mansell, Brenda and Andrew MollettFownhope
2000Margaret Eggleton, Dave Luther, Les WilliamsRossMargaret Ashby, Michael Mortimer, Wolfred ThomasAston Ingham
1999Sue and John Stannard, Fred JolleyFownhopeIvor and June Carter, Pat BoalerCorse & Staunton

Competitions Results & Information

Find out more about our competitions, results, fixtures and information.