Herefordshire Short Mat Bowling Association


Macmillan Trophy

Macmillan Trophy

An annual competition, open to teams across Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and beyond, is held to raise funds for Macmillan Cancer Support. In an open draw format each team of 4 players plays 4 games across the day and the overall winner is decided by points and shot difference. A Junior Trophy, kindly donated by Peter Rowland of Macmillan, is presented to the best performing junior player. The tournament regularly raises in excess of £2,000 for Macmillan.

2022 Competition

Thirty-two teams from across Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and beyond gathered at Lemonster Indoor Bowling Centre on Saturday 5th November for 28th running of the HSMBA’s Macmillan Tournament, the first competition to be held following Covid. 

Since its inception in 1992, the tournament has raised over £32,000 for Macmillan, with this year’s tournament adding a further £1,400 to the total. On the mat, a hotly contested competition saw 5 teams having won all 4 of their games by the end of the day meaning that shots difference would decide the overall winner. It was West Glamorgan side Llansamlet who came out on top having ammased a massive +43 shots difference following four convincing victories. The runners up were Whitton who fell short by 11 shots with a +32 shots difference. Also tied level on pounts but further back on shots were teams from Gorsley Chapel, Woolhope and Blakedown. 

Special thanks go to Becci Cox who both organised and ran the event on the day; Sue Stannard, Jim and Ann Wilkinson for their tireless efforts running the refreshment and raffle stalls and Anthony Rogers for the transporting and setting up of the mats. 

The full results sheet is available below:

Powered By EmbedPress

The 2022 Winners, Llansamlet, with Tournament Organiser Becci Cox

Record of Champions

YearWinner (Team)Winner (Players)Winner (County)
2022LlansamletC Hillier, L & J Lewis, J SmithWest Glamorgan
2020No Competition
2019TewkesburyP Schofield, D Moss, R & D WilsonGloucestershire
2018RossB Glover, E & R George, I ParkHerefordshire
2017LarruperzL Lewis, L Rawlings, H & T VitaleHerefordshire
2016RossA & I Roe, L Williams, D WatkinsHerefordshire
2015Forest of DeanJ Marshall, J Bradley, R Ball, P RawdanowiczGloucestershire
2014WoolhopeI Park, D & A Rogers + Subs for S Rogers (L Rawlings, J Tingle, J Loveys, A Biggs)Herefordshire
2013RossA & I Roe, L Williams, D WatkinsHerefordshire
2012Wotton HallJ & J Carter, J Hudson, K WindoGloucestershire
2011LeaJ Claessen, M Attwood, G Jones, C SmithHerefordshire
2010TewkesburyP Thorn, P Keicher, G Johnson, S MinchewGloucestershire
2009WoolhopeS & B Cox, A Mayes, A RogersHerefordshire
2008AshchurchE Walker, G & T Wheeler, I BaldwinGloucestershire
2007Wotton HallJ & J Carter, M & T BurchellGloucestershire
2006WoolhopeC, S & B Cox, I ParkHerefordshire
2005AshchurchS Holdsworth, H Jackson, R & G KnightGloucestershire
2004FownhopeH Mansell, F Jolley, S & J StannardHerefordshire
2003WoolhopeS, P & A Rogers, L GriffithsHerefordshire
2002Weston under PenyardB & H Aubrey, B Whitehouse, H DaviesHerefordshire
2001Weston under PenyardB & H Aubrey, B Whitehouse, H DaviesHerefordshire
2000LeaT & J Harris, D Dickenson, K AmburyHerefordshire
1999Aston InghamB Aubrey, E Watkins, D Thomas, M MortimerHerefordshire
1998FownhopeS Harriman, M Louis, J & S StannardHerefordshire
1997BushleyR & P Richens, W & A RayerGloucestershire
1996Corse & StauntonG Johnson, D & B Bubb, S MinchewGloucestershire
1995BromyardD & M England, D & R ClarkHerefordshire
1994No competition
1993LeaJ & H Churchill, A & S WyeHerefordshire
1992BrockweirS McLeod, S Berry, G & P KingGloucestershire

Junior Trophy

YearWinner (Player)Winner (Team)Runner-up (Player)Runner-up (Team)
2020No Competition
2022J LewisLlansamlet
2019Dominic RogersWoolhope
2018Dominic RogersWoolhope
2017Dominic RogersWoolhope
2016Dominic RogersWoolhope
2015Luke RawlingsLarruperz
2014Dominic RogersWoolhopeLuke RawlingsLarruperz
2013Joseph LoveysGorsleyCameron JohnsonFownhope
2012Joseph LoveysGorsleyCameron JohnsonFownhope
2011Joseph LoveysGorsley
2010Joseph LoveysGorsleyStephen RushbyGloster Knights
2009Stephen RushbyGloster KnightsJoseph LoveysGorsley
2008Joseph LoveysGorsleyStephen RushbyGloster Knights

Competitions Results & Information

Find out more about our competitions, results, fixtures and information.