Herefordshire Short Mat Bowling Association


County Championships

HSMBA Triples Champions - Norman Davies Shield

2022-23 Competition

The 2022-23 competition was held on Saturday 29th October 2022 at Ross Bowling Club. Due to several late dropouts, only 6 teams entered resulting in the competition being played in a league format with all teams playing eachother. 

A tight affair saw several teams in the mix for the trophy, with three teams having a possible chance at victory before the final round of games. Two of those sides faced off in a potential winnter takes all clash, with the Woolhope triple of Shirley Cox, Bryan Watkins and John Mills, leading the way on 7 points, taking on the second placed Gorsley Chapel side of Sophie Heather-Warner, Dean Rudman and Joe Loveys on 6 points. Also in contention were The Lea, who required a heavy victory against St Martins coupled with other results going their way to sneak secure victory. 

Following two close games, it was the Gorlsey trio of Heather-Warner, Rudman and Loveys who emerged victorius, beating Woolhope 12-8 with The Lea unable to amass the shots needed to impact the result. 

Final Results

Winners- Gorsley Chapel- Sophie Heather Warner, Dean Rudman and Joe Loveys- 8 points, +27 shots

Runners Up- Woolhope- Shirley Cox, Bryan Watkins and John Mills-  7 points, +21 shots

Third Place- The Lea- Adrian James, Steve Kite and Merion Attwood- 6 points, +5 shots

Dean Rudman, Sophie Heather-Warner and Joe Loveys

Roll of Honour

YearWinner (Players)Winner (Team)Runner-up (Player)Runner-up (Team)
2023Sophie Heather-Warner, Dean Rudman & Joe LoveysGorsley ChapelShirley Cox, Bryan Watkins & John MillsWoolhope
2022Elaine George, Les Williams & Peter WrightRossRob George, Dave Watkins & Ian RoeRoss
2021No competition
2020Dean Rudman, Kate Williams & Joe LoveysGorsley Chapel / RossShirley Cox, Anthony Rogers & John MillsWoolhope
2019John Snow, Stephen Kite & Merion AttwoodLeaLes Barlow, Dean Rudman & Joe LoveysGorsley Chapel
2018John Mills, Shirley & Becci CoxWoolhopeFran Jones, Betty & Harold AubreyWeston
2017Ali & Ian Roe & Ian ParkRossElaine George, Dave Watkins & Les WilliamsRoss
2016Ali & Ian Roe & Ian ParkRossPhil, Dominic & Anthony RogersWoolhope
2015Sue Dix, Rob George & Dave WatkinsRossPhil, Dominic & Anthony RogersWoolhope
2014Phil, Dominic & Anthony RogersWoolhopeJohn Mills, Becci & Charlie CoxWoolhope
2013Kate Williams, Jo & Brian ClaessenLeaMark Bowden, Shirley & Becci CoxWoolhope
2012Harold & Betty Aubrey, Tim RigdenWestonSandra, Phil & Anthony RogersWoolhope
2011Sandra, Phil & Anthony RogersWoolhopeHilary Mansell, Sue & John StannardFownhope
2010Jean Austin, Jeff Morris, Les PhillipsLarruperzGeorge Marshall, Colin Barnes, Frank GarrettRoss
2009Sandra, Phil & Anthony RogersWoolhopePamela & Neil Kellett, Peter ClarkFownhope
2008Sandra, Phil & Anthony RogersWoolhopeTim Rigden, Betty & Harold AubreyWeston
2007Pamela & Neil Kellett, Fred JolleyFownhopeSandra & Phil Rogers, Lee JonesWoolhope
2006Hazel & Tony Vitale, Faye MiddlecoteLarruperzPamela & Neil Kellett, Fred JolleyTarrington
2005Les Phillips, June Pearce. Kath BradleyLarruperzAlf & Sheila Wye, Sheila WhittinghamLarruperz
2004Margaret Eggleton, Les Williams, James ZimmermanRossBrenda & Andrew Mollett, Roger HuntFownhope
2003Brenda & Frank Garrett, Harry WaltersRossBrenda & Andrew Mollett, Roger HuntFownhope
2002Gladys & Ivor Skyrme, David LaneSellackLes Phillips, June Pearce, Kath BradleyLarruperz
2001Margaret Eggleton, Steve & Les WilliamsRossTony Vitale, Barry Payne, Len HillLarruperz
2000Brenda Mollett, John Stannard, Fred JolleyFownhopeAlf & Sheila Wye, Ann WatkinsLea

Competitions Results & Information

Find out more about our competitions, results, fixtures and information.